Africa Jackets

16 01 2007

Africa Jacket 2Africa Jacket 1

I just finished these “Africa Jacket” projects for my 7 year old nieces. I need to maintain my status as the “coolest Aunt Denise in the whole wide world.” It started out as a birthday present, evolved to a Christmas present, and ended up a “happy winter” present when I realized there was no way I’d be done by December 25.

But, alas, they are done! I was inspired by a display I saw in my local library last October. Someone had disassembled a sweatshirt and stitched patches on it in a crazy quilt style and then reassembled it into a jacket. I couldn’t see much of the jacket itself. It was folded in a display case. But the accompanying description didn’t make it sound like an impossible project. So I started the journey of the Africa Jackets.

I had purchased a few fabrics at the airport in Zambia, being attracted by their rich and vibrant colors and bold patterns.  Even though I don’t think the fabrics were made in Africa, they sure reminded me of it! Then I was Christmas shopping in a local store and found the fabrics with the “Big 5” animals and knew that I just had to put this together.

And voila! Pictured are 2 same, but different jackets for my nieces, Devon and Taylor. The elephants, lions, cheetahs, leopards, rhinos, zebras, giraffes scamper all over the front and back and the fuzzy leopard print material makes wearing them a multi-dimensional experience. I love them so much, I think I’ll make a jacket for myself.  Let me know what you think!

Original No Guts post.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

