Bagels for Non-Believers

19 04 2007

Did I ever tell you that I like to bake bread? Well seeing is believing, but tasting is even better. Here are a couple of photos of my most recent bagel bake. These are my very own sourdough bagels.

Homemade Bagels      Homemade Bagel

Someone recently asked me why I’d go to the trouble of baking my own bagels when there are two very good bagel shops within 2 miles of my house. Obviously, this person has never tasted one of my bagels!  One taste will make you a believer. 

 If you have tasted one my bagels, leave a comment and let me know what you think.

Actions

Information

7 responses

23 04 2007
danpak

I attest to the fact that your bagels are the best! I always thought the bagels must come from true “bageleries.” She proved me wrong. Even the size is perfect – I always find that the commercial size is little too much.

Hooray for Denise’s bagels.. (can I have some more? 😉

26 04 2007
Denise

Dan, of course you can have more! You know how much I like kimchee. And, perhaps, we might throw a few photographs into the bargain!

26 04 2007
danpak

It’s a deal. Just so you know… you inspired me to start blogging. After a careful consideration of comparing a coupld blogging sites, I am now with the WordPress.
I have it “hidden” while I decide on a structure and format, but it is coming soon. Thanks!

26 04 2007
Denise

Cool…blog on dude! It will be great to have company in the blogosphere! I can’t wait to check out your blog.

30 04 2007
shilohautumn

So, what’s the recipe?! 🙂

1 05 2007
Denise

shiloautumn, my bread bible is Nancy Silverton’s book called “Breads from La Brea Bakery.” Nancy pioneered sourdough artisanal breads in San Francisco. I’ve tried many other cookbooks and bread recipes, but none compare to Nancy’s. I have a sourdough starter that I feed regularly, and I use it when baking my bagels from the recipe in her book.

24 11 2007
We Are Thankful for the Kitties « No Guts, No Glory!

[…] are some twins shots from Thanksgiving. In these photos, they are eating Aunt Denise’s homemade chocolate chip bagels, wearing sleep shirts they made at my house last weekend, and having fun with Grammy. […]

Leave a Reply

