Stranded in Irving

28 06 2007

Well, here I am in Irving, Texas, more specifically Las Colinas, traveling on business and stranded by the floods. I had a hard time booking a flight into Dallas/Fort Worth last week…that should have been my first clue. Then, I was 5 hours delayed on the trip down. We sat on the tarmac for an hour after landing on Monday night. Finally someone had a “medical emergency” so American Airlines had to open up a gate for us…else I think we may still have been sitting there.

So here I am. I was booked on the first flight out this morning which would have landed me in Newark in plenty of time to get to Manhattan to wait on line for my tickets to see tonight’s taping of The Daily Show with Jon Stewart.  But no such luck…definite bummer!!!!!! I waited 5 months for these tickets.

Ah me, listen to me whining about my inconvenience while so many people here in Texas are losing their homes and their lives to this horrid rain. I tried to while away my time last night at the Grapevine Mills outlet center…but the rain even marred that shopping experience. More than half of the store lost power and had to close. Now part of the interstate that I traveled to get to the mall is flooded and closed. And, the weather forecast is predicting rain for the foreseeable future down here.

Just awful! But I’ll be back home soon enough…I hope…

Actions

Information

One response

28 06 2007
Cathy

We will soooo miss you at the show this evening but thanks for the tickets. We’ll give Jon (fellow crossword guy) a big hug for you!

Leave a Reply

